LITTLE BROWN MUSHROOM BLOG

Rabbit Books

Posted in Flotsam by carrielizabethompson on March 29, 2010

When I was young my mother collected antiques. She specialized in antique rabbit items. She had rabbit chocolate molds, rabbit furniture for children, stuffed rabbit toys, but my favorite was a little book named: Four Little Bunnies.

While I was in Japan I met a rabbit named Goma. I am now obsessed with rabbits and photographers who make books and photographs about rabbits.

This is a beautiful rabbit photo by Rinko Kawauchi

And this is the new In Almost Every Picture 8. Its the story of Oolong a Japanese rabbit.

Does anyone know of any other good photography books about rabbits?

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. little round muskrat said, on March 29, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Well sort of:

    http://page11.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/n76750524

    JG

  2. Katelyn said, on March 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    We have to find that book!!!
    Now you see why I was so obsessed with rabbits. They are so dang cute.

  3. Margaret PG said, on March 29, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I have what I think is the best photography book about rabbits ever — Rosemarie Trockel’s Loffel + Mirabelle. It even features the same stuffed animal bunny I had growing up.

  4. Marc said, on March 30, 2010 at 4:47 am

    No rabbit recommendations but a rabbit website: http://www.bunnylicious.org. They featured my favorite photograph of a rabbit by Hiroh Kikai, http://www.bunnylicious.org/?p=1061

  5. re: photographica (George) said, on March 30, 2010 at 6:40 am

    I love Oolong under nori. Looks almost like Alec’s camouflage!

    You know, off the top of my head I can hardly think of any photographs of rabbits, except a beauty Tom Arndt took of a girl holding her State Fair bunny. Almost too poignant to look at, but the girl has a look of toughness that saves it.

    Perfect seasonal fare, CET. Nicely chosen.

    GS

  6. CET said, on March 30, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Christian, Angora looks like a great book, but what a sad story. LRM that books scares me, the rabbit looks possessed. George, thanks for the photo recommendation. Margaret where do I find Rosemarie Trockel’s Loffel + Mirabelle? Marc, I love the rabbit photo, what a great rabbit dress!

    CET

    • little round muskrat said, on March 30, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      CET

      It is a cat with rabbit ears I think. So it is possessed

      LRM

  7. bob black said, on March 30, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    CET….

    well, it aint a photobook (illustration) but my favorite books on bunnies are Pilkey’s “Dumb Bunnies” Series….(his captain underwear aint bad either ;))))) )…..

    http://www.pilkey.com/books.php

    gotta read…at the time when i would read them to my newphew (4 at the time) and my son (6 at the time), the result was genuis….

    and those magnificent front teeth :)))

    b

  8. seb said, on March 31, 2010 at 7:14 am

    http://www.l-iz.de/Kultur/Lebensart/2007/10/Ein-Dutzend-Hasen-unter-Glas–200710270015.html

    claudia angelmaier from HGB Leipzig

  9. seb said, on March 31, 2010 at 7:17 am

    http://littlebrownmushroom.blogspot.com/2009/07/better-people-won.html

    nice blog, too — with other work from angelmaier, got me confused – –

  10. Laura said, on March 31, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    The first time I picked up this book at Kinokuniya in New York I didn’t buy it and regretted the decision for months. The second time I picked it up I bought it. Now I think back to the first time and say to myself: you are very lucky they still had it. (Silly story.)
    Sunday Rabbit by Rari Yoshio
    http://www.amazon.co.jp/SUNDAY-RABBIT-RARI-YOSHIO/dp/4591088294

  11. osagegelder said, on March 31, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I’m very fond of hasenpfeffer. Otherwise, bunnies don’t do much for me. Too many of them eating up valuable foliage around my place. Almost as bad as deer. OG


Leave a Reply

